Polytechnic University of the Philippines


In 1961, then Philippine College of Commerce (PCC) offered a degree program BSC (Economics) under the Department of Economics and General Business (DEGB). Four years after, the DEGB was reorganized into the  Department of Economics, Management and Finance (DEMF) with Prof. Raymundo Garcia as head.

When PCC was reopened in 1972 after its closure due to worsening student unrest, the BSC Economic program was placed under the Department of Business and Cooperatives Education (DBCE) with Prof. Mateo S. Esguerra as the chairman.

In 1975, economics was made into a distinct academic unit under the Faculty of Economics (FE) under Prof. Elmer Abueg as the Dean. Under this development, the curriculum for the Bachelor of Science in Commerce (BSC), major in Economics, was modified and made into Bachelor of Science in Applied Economics (BSAE). The move was primarily intended to develop a strong theoretical and analytical foundation among students, as well as expose them to applied policy courses.

In 1977, the FE was renamed Faculty of Economics and Finance as a new program, Bachelor in Banking and Finance, began to be offered. The BSAE became Bachelor in Applied Economics with two options: Business Economics and Development Planning. In the following year, the FEF was renamed the Institute of Economics, Banking and Finance (IEBF).

In 1979, two new academic programs were offered, namely: Bachelor in Applied Statistics (BAS) and Bachelor in Insurance (BI). The thrust of the Institute at this time was curricular relevance to manpower needs in business and government. Experts in government were tapped as curriculum advisers in economics and statistics. They included former Economic Planning Secretary and NEDA Director General, Dr. Vicente Valdepe�as, and Bureau of Census and Statistics (BSC) head, Dr. Marcelo Orense. In 1983, the IEBF was renamed into the Institute of Economics, Finance and Statistics (IEFS).

In 1984, the IEFS briefly operated autonomously under the cluster college system. However, in 1987, IEFS reverted to the old set-up which gave emphasis on curriculum or course specialization. IEFS, then was renamed as the College of Economics and Politics (CEP) with Prof. Zosimo O.L. Villa as the Dean. Curricular emphasis was on the strengthening of faculty and student research.

In 1987, the curricula for all these academic programs were ladderized to provide certificate of completion of a two or three-year program to qualify students for threshold jobs in their fields of specialization.

In 1990, the academic thrusts of the CEP were geared towards producing real specialists in the fields of economics, politics and finance. The curriculum was revised to include the streamlining of major courses and the selective inclusion of general education and cognate subjects. BITM was abandoned as a separate academic program; while BAE was renamed into Bachelor of Science in Economics (BSE). International Economics, as well as Business Economics, were made major degrees under BSE. Prof. Hector R. R. Villanueva became the new CEFP Dean until 1995.

In 1994, minor revisions were made on the curricula of the CEP. These consisted in the renaming of some courses and the repositioning of some subjects, Bachelor of Arts in Political Science (ABPS) was renamed into Bachelor in Political Science (BPS); Bachelor of Arts in Political Economy (ABPE) became Bachelor of Science in Political Economy (BSPE); and Bachelor in Banking and Finance (BBF) was changed to Bachelor of Science in Banking and Finance (BSBF).

In 1997, under the administration of Dean Ronan, the CEP was renamed into what it is now known � the College of Economics, Finance and Politics (CEFP). This move was aimed primarily at highlighting the course offering on finance as a specialized program. Bachelor in Finance was renamed into Bachelor in Banking and Finance (BBF). All curricula were revised to conform with the new developments in each field of specialization. The ladder-type of curricular system was abandoned to give way to the straight four-year degree program.

On November 28, 1997, all academic programs of the CEFP were formally accredited by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and University of the Philippines (AACCUP). Consequently, the college was granted a first level accreditation status. On 29 February 2000, CEFP was awarded the level II accreditation certificate by the AACCUP.

On January 4, 2000, Dr. Roman R. Dannug assumed the Deanship of the CEFP. During this term, Dr. Dannug aims to transform CEFP into a premier institution with the following thrusts: I.T. and Entrepreneurship-based curricular offering, Entrepreneurial leadership styles, Political technocracy approaches, Student-centered service culture and Research-based instruction.

At present, the CEFP has two (2) Ninoy Aquino Professorial Chairs under the sponsorship of the Philippine National Bank � one in Political Economy and the other in Banking and Finance. Previous holders of these Professorial Chairs were newspaper columnists, Prof. Antonio Gatmaitan and the past Budget Secretary, Dr. Guillermo N. Carague. The latter chair was held by former Dean of the CEFP and Press Secretary of the Philippines, Prof. Hector R. R. Villanueva.

Trade and Industry Secretary, Manuel A. Roxas, held the Professorial Chair in Political Economy from 1998-2001. Last to held this Chair was Dr. Roman R. Dannug in 2006.

On August 20-22, 2003, the AACCUP conducted the First Resurvey Visit Towards III Level Accreditation of the CEFP curricular offerings. CEFP achieved one of the highest ratings in the University.

On February 1, 2006, Dr. Melly L.Paraiso became the new CEFP Dean.